Academic Calendar 2022/2023

2022 

August 1, Monday 

Academic Year begins

August 13, Saturday – August 21, Sunday

EMBA Summer Teaching Module

August 15, Monday

Assumption Day, Vienna campus is officially closed 

August 20, Saturday

Hungarian National Holiday, Budapest campus is officially closed

September 3/4, Sat/Sun

Bachelor’s, 1st year master’s and doctoral students arrive for pre-session/orientation

September 5, Monday

Orientations begin  (until September 16, Friday)

September 5, Monday

Pre-sessions begin (until September 16, Friday) 

September 10/11, Sat/Sun

Continuing master’s and doctoral students arrive

September 12, Monday

Registration for Fall Term begins

September 19, Monday

Opening ceremony

September 19, Monday

Fall term begins

October 2, Sunday

Registration for Fall Term ends

October 6, Thursday

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)

October 23, Saturday 

Hungarian National Holiday, Budapest campus is officially closed

October 26, Tuesday

Austrian National Holiday, Vienna campus is officially closed

October 27, Thursday

ACADEMIC FORUM

Saturday, Oct 29 – Tuesday, November 1

EMBA Fall teaching module

October 31, Monday

Special day off in Hungary

November 1, Tuesday

All Saints’ Day, Budapest and Vienna campuses are officially closed

November 24, Thursday

TOWN HALL meeting

December 2, Friday

SENATE MEETING  

December 8, Thursday

Immaculate Conception Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed  

December 12, Monday

Registration for Winter Term begins

December 16, Friday

Fall Term ends at ECBS

December 24, Saturday

Christmas Eve, Budapest and Vienna campuses are officially closed  

December 25, Sunday

Christmas Day, Budapest and Vienna campuses are officially closed  

December 26, Monday

Christmas Day, Budapest and Vienna campuses are officially closed  

December 31, Saturday

New Year’s Eve, Budapest and Vienna campuses are officially closed  

2023

January 1, Sunday 

New Year’s Day, Budapest and Vienna campuses are officially closed  

January 5, Thursday

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)

January 6, Friday

Epiphany Day, Vienna campus is officially closed  

January 9, Monday

Winter Term begins

January 16, Monday

-        Registration for Winter Term ends

-        Deadline for submission of Fall Term grades

February 16, Thursday – February 19, Sunday

EMBA Winter Teaching Module

March 2, Thursday

-        Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)  

-        ACADEMIC FORUM

March 15, Tuesday

Hungarian National Holiday, Budapest campus is officially closed

March 20, Monday

Registration for Spring term begins

March 30, Thursday

TOWN HALL meeting

March 31, Friday

Winter term ends for MS in Business Analytics and Finance programs

April 7, Friday

Winter term ends at ECBS

Good Friday, Budapest campus is officially closed

April 9, Sunday

Easter Sunday, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

April 10, Monday

Easter Monday, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

April 11, Tuesday

Registration for Spring Term ends

April 12, Wednesday

Spring term begins for MS in Business Analytics and Finance programs

April 14, Friday

SENATE MEETING

April 17, Monday

Spring term begins for ECBS

April 27, Wednesday

TOWN HALL meeting

April 29, Saturday– May 7, Sunday

EMBA Spring Teaching Module

May 1, Sunday

Labor day, Budapest and Vienna campuses are officially closed

May 4, Thursday

ACADEMIC FORUM

May 8, Monday

Deadline for submission of the Winter Term grades

May 18, Thursday

Ascension Day, Vienna campus is officially closed  

May 28, Sunday

Pentecost Sunday, Budapest and Vienna campuses are officially closed 

May 29, Monday 

Pentecost Monday, Budapest and Vienna campuses are officially closed

May 31, Wednesday

Deadline for submission of new course requests for AY 2023-24 in SITS

June 1, Thursday

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)  

June 2, Friday

SENATE MEETING

Spring term ends at ECBS

June 5, Monday

MA thesis submission deadline

June 8, Thursday

Corpus Christi Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed

June 9, Friday

Deadline for submission of the Spring Term grades of graduating students

June 12, Monday

Capstone project submission deadline

June 12-14,

Monday-Wednesday

MA thesis defenses +

June 15-16, Thursday, Friday

Final exam for MS students

June 16, Friday

Spring term ends at CEU

June 26, Monday

Summer University begins

June 23, Friday

COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY

July 7, Friday

Final deadline for all course grades for AY 22-23

July 31, Monday

Summer University in Budapest ends

July 31, Monday

Deadline for finalizing course lists/diets

for AY 2023-24 in SITS

Deadline for uploading all courses for AY 2023-24 to the Course Hub

Academic Year ends