Academic Calendar 2019/2020

 

2019

 

August 1, Thursday 

Academic Year begins

August 15, Thursday

Assumption Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed 

August 19, Monday

Special Day Off, CEU Budapest is officially closed

August 20, Tuesday

Hungarian National Holiday, CEU is officially closed

Aug 31/Sept 1, Sat/Sun

1st year masters’ and doctoral students arrive for presession/orientation

September 2, Monday

Pre-sessions/orientations begin (until September 13, Friday, ) 

September 7/8, Sat/Sun

Continuing master’s students arrive in Budapest

September 9, Monday

Registration for Fall Term begins (until September 29, Sunday)

September 12, Thursday

SENATE MEETING  

September 16, Monday

Opening ceremony in Budapest  Fall term begins in Budapest

September 16-24 Mon/Tue

Student Union elections in departments and schools

September 26, Thursday

First Student Union Assembly meeting

September 29, Sunday

Registration for Fall Term ends

October 2, Wednesday

Opening ceremony in Vienna

October 4, Friday

SENATE MEETING  

October 10, Thursday

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)

October 23, Wednesday 

Hungarian National Holiday, CEU is officially closed

October 26, Saturday

Austrian National Holiday, CEU Vienna is officially closed

October 31, Thursday

ACADEMIC FORUM

November 1, Friday

All Saints’ Day, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

November 12, Tuesday

SENATE MEETING

November 16/17,  Sat/Sun

BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING

November 26, Tuesday

TOWN HALL MEETING

November 29, Friday

SENATE MEETING

December 2, Monday

Registration for Winter Term begins (until January 12, Sunday)

December 8, Sunday

Immaculate Conception Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed  

December 13, Friday

Fall Term ends for Economics and Business students

December 16-23

Offices with skeleton team, Library and Labs on weekend schedule

December 24, Monday

Christmas Eve, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed  

December 25, Tuesday

Christmas Day, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed  

December 26,Wednesday

Christmas Day, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed  

December 27-30 

Offices with skeleton team, Library and Labs on weekend schedule

December 31, Monday

New Year’s Eve, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed  

           

2020

 

January 1, Tuesday 

New Year’s Day, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed  

January 6, Monday

Epiphany Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed  

January 7, Tuesday

Winter Term begins in Vienna and Budapest

Deadline for submission of Fall Term grades

January 12, Sunday

Registration for Winter Term ends

January 17, Friday

SENATE MEETING

February 7, Friday

SENATE MEETING

February 20, Thursday

ACADEMIC FORUM 

March 5, Thursday

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)  

March 13, Friday

SENATE MEETING

March 15, Sunday

Hungarian National Holiday, CEU is officially closed

March 16, Monday

Registration for Spring Terms begins (until April 5, Sunday)

March 28/29 Sat/Sun

BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING 

April 3, Friday

Winter Term ends for Economics and Business students

April 5, Sunday

Registration for Spring Term ends

April 7, Tuesday

TOWN HALL MEETING

April 10, Friday

Good Friday, CEU is officially closed

April 12, Sunday

Easter Sunday, CEU is officially closed

April 13, Monday

Easter Monday, CEU is officially closed

April 14, Tuesday

Spring Term begins for Economics and Business studentsin Vienna and Budapest

April 17, Friday

SENATE MEETING

April 20, Monday

Deadline for submission of the Winter Term grades

April 24, Friday

Departments/schools start negotiations on cross listing agreements

April 30, Thursday

ACADEMIC FORUM 

May 1, Wednesday

Labor day, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

May 8, Friday

Departments/schools submit the final list of courses including cross-listed courses for the AY 2020-21 to the Student Records Office

May 15, Friday

SENATE MEETING

May 21, Thursday

Ascension Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed  

May 29, Friday

Deadline for submission of the Spring Term grades of graduating students  

May 31, Sunday

Pentecost Sunday, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed 

June 1, Monday 

Pentecost Monday, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

June 2, Tuesday

Thesis Submission Deadline for MA students 1 ( 4 pm.)

June 4, Thursday

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students) 

June 9-10-11,

Tuesday-Thursday

MA thesis defenses 1

June 11, Thursday

Corpus Christi Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed

June 16, Tuesday

Capstone project submission deadline 1

June 16, Tuesday

Thesis Submission Deadline for MA students 2 ( 4 pm.)

June 18, Thursday

Final exam for MS students 1

June 19, Friday

COMMENCEMENT 

June 20/21,Sat/Sun

BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING 

June 23, Tuesday

Capstone project submission deadline 2

June 23-25 Tuesday -Thursday

MA thesis defenses 2

June 25, Thursday

Final exam for MS students 2

June 29, Monday

Summer University begins

July 10, Friday

Final deadline for all course grades for AY 2019-20

July 31, Friday

Summer University ends

July 31, Friday

Academic Year ends