Jean Monet Chair

July 28, 2017

Congratulations to our colleague Associate Professor Michael LaBelle who just has been awarded a Jean Monnet Chair in EU Energy Innovation Studies by the European Commission’s Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA).

New Name New Place

July 17, 2017

As announced earlier, the Department of Economics will continue in the new academic year under a new name. Amalgamated with the most successful parts of the CEU Business School, we are now the Department of Economics and Business. As our faculty grew significantly, we are also moving to a new place, just next door. By the end of July, we will be taking over the 4th, 5th, and 6th floors of the Nador 13 building.

Graduation 2017

June 27, 2017

We are very happy to congratulate the 48 students who graduated from the Department of Economics this year, in the Programs MA in Economics, MA in Economic Policy in Global Markets, and MSc in Business Analytics a program ran jointly with Business School.

Professor Kezdi receives CEU Distinguished Teaching Award

June 15, 2017

The Department of Economics is proud to announce that Professor Gabor Kezdi has been selected as a recipient of the 2017 CEU Distinguished Teaching Award. The award recognizes CEU faculty members for promoting high standards of teaching, linked with the mission and institutional ambitions of CEU.

The award will be conferred at the 2017/2018 academic year opening ceremony, on September 15, 2017.

Book presentation by Markus K. Brunnermeier: The Euro and the Battle of Ideas

June 7, 2017

cordially invite you to a presentation of the book titled

The Euro and the Battle of Ideas


Markus K. Brunnermeier
Harold James
Jean-Pierre Landau

Presented by Markus K. Brunnermeier
Thursday, June 8, 2017, 17:00 - 18:30
Quantum Room 101, Nador ut.15
Chair: Julius Horváth, CEU